Mechanical Engineering

Walking machines

Everyone knows of Theo Jansen, Klanns linkage, Cheyushev....Boston Dynamics is building robotic dogs, Cheetahs...etc, and many garage mechanics have made mechanical spiders.

The machine I am building is not as refined, and has some drawbacks, but i think its sturdiness and ruggedness makes up for it. I have built some models to test the concept, and I am mildly happy. But steel is the wrong building material, and many parts could be reduced or eliminated to save weight and complexity.

The latest test run is human powered. Two cables run from pedals to the bar connected to the crankshaft.

Eventually, this machine should be able to replace tracks in some vehicles, because there are no wheels, no sprockets, links, driveshafts...etc. It can be run with linear motors such as air cylinders, or steam cylinders.

I am not a mechanical engineer. I was unable to learn CAD/CAM to assist me indevelopment. I am hoping to find people who can see a future in this design, and possibly help make it practical, and commercially useful. My own imagination runs wild with the possibilities, but my friends see nothing but an interesting machine.

If the link works, this is the last video://youtu.be/Y4ZuhBAAOd0, there are a couple other versions on my page too.

I had a crowdfunding site that no one was interested in too; http://igg.me/at/chimecycle/x/477602

• 7 months later...

I saw your video and it was impressive. Good work. How fast did it go in the test runs? Because I think speed is going to be your main concern. And what are the possibilities that you were talking about pls elaborate.

CAD softwares can be easily learned there are many good tutorials available.

Try weight reduction.

I saw your video and it was impressive. Good work. How fast did it go in the test runs? Because I think speed is going to be your main concern. And what are the possibilities that you were talking about pls elaborate.